FAQ: How Toy Story Follows The Hero’s Journey?

Toy Story Hero’s Journey | Shmoop

In 1949, Joseph Campbell outlined the 17 stages of a mythological hero’s journey; in an attempt to show Hollywood how every story should unfold, Christopher Vogler condensed those stages down to 12.

Ordinary World

Woody is a cowboy toy that can move and talk when his owner, Andy, isn’t around, and he’s the de facto leader of the other toys in the room.

Refusal Of The Call

Woody is Andy’s favorite toy, and he’s determined to keep his place in Andy’s heart, even after Buzz shows off all of his cool features.

Meeting The Mentor

When Woody discovers that Andy is only allowed to bring one toy to Pizza Planet, he consults an oracle, the Magic 8-Ball, for guidance.

Crossing The Threshold

Woody tries to persuade the other toys that it was just a misunderstanding, but they don’t believe him.

Tests, Allies, Enemies

Sid, Andy’s neighbor, wins claw machine games and then heads home to play his own version of Wheel of Fortune. Woody and Buzz are stranded at a gas station and hitch a ride to Pizza Planet only to end up on the inside of a claw machine.

Approach To The Inmost Cave

Woody and Buzz are taken to Sid’s house, but only Woody seems to realize how dangerous they are; young Sid enjoys roughhousing with his toys, and it’s not just the girls’ toys that get roughhousing.


They learn more about themselves and admit that they are envious of Buzz’s new status as Andy’s favorite toy; Woody admits that he is a toy, not a space ranger.

The Road Back

But then Sid wakes up and drags Buzz outside to blow him up in the backyard; wow, this kid is a jerk.

We recommend reading:  How Much Does A 28 Foot Travel Trailer Weigh?


They free Buzz and scare the snot out of Sid by resurrecting and telling him they don’t like blowing things up, which will land you in therapy.

Return With The Elixir

After escaping from Sid’s backyard, Woody and Buzz track down a moving truck just as Andy is leaving for his new home. Everyone heads to Andy’s new home, and all is well in Toyland once more.

What is a story that follows the hero’s journey?

Regardless of the story’s genre or setting, the central narrative follows the hero’s journey structure, also known as the “monomyth” in literary circles or the “hero’s journey” in popular culture.

What is the Toy Story call to adventure?

The call to adventure begins at Andy’s birthday party, when Woody, along with the other toys, fears that they will be replaced by the new toys Andy will receive, which comes true when Andy receives Buzz Lightyear, the “super cool” Space Ranger Hero.

How do you start a story after the hero’s journey?

What is the best way to write a hero’s journey?

  1. First, create your hero. Forget about the traditional meanings of the word ‘hero,’ and let your imagination run wild.
  2. Then, give them a goal. Remember, stories exist on a literal level first and foremost.
  3. Finally, lay out the four quadrants of the story cycle.

Which Disney movies follow the hero’s journey?

The Hero’s Journey is not limited to Star Wars; many Disney animated feature films, including Finding Nemo, Mulan, The Lion King, The Incredibles, and Moana, follow this plot structure.

What are the four parts of the hero’s journey myth?

What is the Hero’s Journey, and how does it work?

  • The Departure Act: the Hero departs from the Ordinary World. The Initiation Act: the Hero enters unknown territory (the ” Special World “) and undergoes various trials and challenges in order to be born into a true champion.
We recommend reading:  Which Credit Card Best For Travel?

What are the 10 steps of the hero’s journey?

Steps in the Hero’s Journey

  • Step 1: The Ordinary World.
  • Step 2: The Call to Adventure.
  • Step 3: Cross the First Threshold.
  • Step 4: Trials, Friends, and Foes.
  • Step 5: Magical Mentor (or the Mentor with Supernatural Aid)
  • Step 6: Dragon’s Lair.
  • Step 7: Moment of Despair.

Why is Woody the hero in Toy Story 1?

Woody is the first protagonist in a computer-animated film, as Toy Story was the world’s first computer-animated film. Tom Hanks was drawn to play Woody because he used to wonder if his toys were alive and moved around when he was alone in his room.

Who is the hero in Toy Story?

Woody Pride, also known as Sheriff Woody, is the main protagonist of Disney/Pixar’s Toy Story franchise, as well as a supporting character in other media. He is the main protagonist of the films and a supporting character in other media.

Who is the threshold guardian in Toy Story?

Andy’s other toys serve as threshold guardians because they are only interested in Buzz, which irritates Woody. When they return home, they are given the gift of being loved and played with again by Andy, as well as a reunion with all of Andy’s other toys.

What are the 3 stages of a hero’s journey?

The Departure (or Separation), the Initiation, and the Return, according to Campbell, are the three main stages, each of which consists of several steps. During the Departure, the hero is introduced as they are presented with and prepare for their journey.

We recommend reading:  What Is The Role Of Travel In The Hospitality Industry?

What are the 8 steps of a hero’s journey?

There are eight terms in this set.

  • Challenges.
  • Abyss.
  • Transformation.
  • Atonement.
  • Return with a gift.
  • The call. A problem is presented, and the hero cannot remain in the ordinary world.
  • The call.

Why is the hero’s journey so universal?

The point of this stage in the Hero’s Journey is that the Reward is never enough; no matter how much we hope they will, life’s physical rewards never satisfy us as deeply as we hope; the Hero’s Journey reflects this universal human truth by continuing the story even after the Hero appears to have gotten what they want.

What movies do not follow the hero’s journey?

5 Movies That Demonstrate The Monomyth

  • The Matrix, Men in Black, The Hunger Games, The Lion King, and Star Wars are just a few of the movies that come to mind.

How is the Lion King a hero’s journey?

The Lion King is a true hero’s journey set in the African savannas, with Simba as the main character who reclaims his kingdom and defeats evil. The main character’s archetype is “king,” and he takes responsibility for his actions and his kingdom, restoring order and control.

Who is the best Disney hero?

The Top 10 Disney Heroes of All Time

  1. 1 Mulan – Mulan (1998)
  2. 2 Aladdin – Aladdin (1992)
  3. 3 Simba – The Lion King (1994)
  4. 4 Beast – Beauty And The Beast (1991)
  5. 5 Quasimodo – The Hunchback Of Notre Dame (1996)
  6. 6 Hercules – Hercules (1997)
  7. 7 Tarzan – Tarzan (1999)
  8. 8 Pinocchio – Pinocchio (1940)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *