Readers ask: How Does A Movie Fit In With Hero’s Journey?

What Your 6 Favorite Movies Have in Common [Infographic]

The “hero’s journey” is a story structure we’ve seen before; regardless of genre or setting, the central narrative follows the hero’s journey structure, which is known in literary circles as the “monomyth” or in pop culture as the “hero’s journey.”

Here are 6 iconic movies that follow the hero’s journey:

The hero’s journey in six iconic films: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2001), Star Wars (1977), The Matrix (1999), Spider-Man (2002), The Lion King (1994), and The Lord of the Rings trilogy (2001-2003) are depicted in this infographic.

A very brief history of the hero’s journey

Joseph Campbell first proposed the monomyth in his book The Hero with a Thousand Faces (1949), which identifies a narrative pattern found throughout mythology. Christopher Vogler popularized the term “hero’s journey,” and his version focuses specifically on film narratives.

1. The Ordinary World

The mundane ordinary world is presented in stark contrast to the “special world” that the hero enters when they accept their quest in Spider-Man. Peter Parker is introduced as a regular teen in Queens, quite the opposite of the kickass crime-stopper he becomes.

2. The Call to Adventure

Princess Leia’s message, delivered by R2-D2, is the call to adventure, and the hero is introduced to the challenge or problem that their quest will seek to solve.

3. Refusal of the Call

Frodo is hesitant to leave his comfortable and familiar life in the Shire in The Lord of the Rings trilogy, possibly because he does not believe he has the skills to complete the quest or because he does not want to leave the life he knows.

4. Meeting with the Mentor

In The Matrix, the mentor is Morpheus, who tells Neo to take either the red or blue pill, depending on which one he chooses.

We recommend reading:  Where Is The Most Expensive Place To Travel?

5. Crossing the First Threshold

When Peter Parker captures the thief who killed his Uncle Ben in Spider-Man, he crosses the threshold and fully commits to the adventure, integrating himself into the special world. There is no turning back at this point in any superhero film – it’s all or nothing.

6. Tests, Allies and Enemies

In Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, this is when Harry first enters the wizarding world and learns how to live there.

7. Approach to the Innermost Cave

In stories, the “innermost cave” is where the quest’s treasure or elixir is hidden; it could be a real treasure or a symbolic achievement. In Star Wars, the innermost cave is the Death Star, where Luke must infiltrate the ship to save Leia.

8. The Ordeal

Simba’s ordeal in The Lion King requires him to confront his guilt over his father’s death, as well as reclaim his right to Pride Rock, which has been taken over by Scar; it is through this struggle that the hero experiences death and rebirth.

What movies follow hero’s journey?

The hero’s journey is depicted in six iconic films: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2001), Star Wars (1977), The Matrix (1999), Spider-Man (2002), The Lion King (1994), and The Lord of the Rings trilogy (2001-2003).

Does every movie follow the hero’s journey?

The Hero’s Journey is an archetypal plot structure that appears in almost every Hollywood film. It is a modern version of Joseph Campbell’s Monomyth.

What is a good example of the hero’s journey?

The journey home – Odysseus returns home to find his wife being courted by many suitors. Resurrection of the hero – Odysseus is patient and disguises himself as a beggar to test his wife’s fidelity.

We recommend reading:  Question: How To Allow Tping Journey Map?

What is the hero’s journey and why is it essential to cinematic storytelling?

It will introduce the hero and his or her story, then introduce a conflict that puts the hero in a lot of trouble, which the hero must overcome in order to save the day/win the girl.

Is the Wizard of Oz a hero’s journey?

The Wizard of Oz is a classic Hero’s Journey that begins with Dorothy’s decision to leave home, and ends with her refusal to return home after being duped by the soon-to-be-wizard.

What are the 3 stages of a hero’s journey?

The Departure (or Separation), the Initiation, and the Return, according to Campbell, are the three main stages, each of which consists of several steps. During the Departure, the hero is introduced as they are presented with and prepare for their journey.

Why is the hero’s journey so universal?

The point of this stage in the Hero’s Journey is that the Reward is never enough; no matter how much we hope they will, life’s physical rewards never satisfy us as deeply as we hope; the Hero’s Journey reflects this universal human truth by continuing the story even after the Hero appears to have gotten what they want.

Why do we love the hero’s journey?

All of the great stories in literature, as well as all of the great movies we enjoy on the big screen, capture the hero’s journey, which gives meaning to our lives and reveals how a human life is meant to be lived. At some point in your life, you will journey away from the comforts of your familiar world.

How important is the hero’s journey?

The Hero’s Journey, however, is as much an emotional or psychological journey as it is a physical one, and a character’s actions and decisions in response to the Journey’s Stages can reveal the Character Arc, or the stages of growth that a character goes through during the story.

We recommend reading:  How Many Total Miles Did Lewis And Clark Travel?

What are the 8 steps of a hero’s journey?

There are eight terms in this set.

  • Challenges.
  • Abyss.
  • Transformation.
  • Atonement.
  • Return with a gift.
  • The call. A problem is presented, and the hero cannot remain in the ordinary world.
  • The call.

What are the 10 steps of the hero’s journey?

Steps in the Hero’s Journey

  • Step 1: The Ordinary World.
  • Step 2: The Call to Adventure.
  • Step 3: Cross the First Threshold.
  • Step 4: Trials, Friends, and Foes.
  • Step 5: Magical Mentor (or the Mentor with Supernatural Aid)
  • Step 6: Dragon’s Lair.
  • Step 7: Moment of Despair.

What is the treasure in a hero’s journey?

The Hero receives the reward/treasure he earned by facing his greatest challenge, indicating his victory over the Antagonist; this reward/treasure is what the Hero set out on the journey to obtain (it does not have to be material).

What are the two worlds of the hero’s journey?

7. The Master of Two Worlds. After completing the journey out and back in, the hero is now a master of both the natural and supernatural worlds, allowing him to cross the threshold between them without difficulty.

What movies do not follow the hero’s journey?

5 Movies That Demonstrate The Monomyth

  • The Matrix, Men in Black, The Hunger Games, The Lion King, and Star Wars are just a few of the movies that come to mind.

Who came up with the hero’s journey?

Joseph Campbell first recognized the monomyth, or Hero’s Journey, as a pattern in mythology when he noticed that heroes in mythology typically go through the same 17 stages in their journey to hero-dom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *