FAQ: How Many Archetypes Of The Hero’s Journey?

What Is the Hero’s Journey?

The hero’s journey is a framework for writers to follow when writing works of fiction, and it’s the foundation upon which some of the most famous stories have been built. Students in a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Screenwriting program learn about these steps in depth.

The Hero’s Journey Stages 

It entails leaving our ordinary world, becoming initiated into a different one, and overcoming numerous challenges.

Ordinary World 

It’s usually a remote location, such as The Shire in “The Lord of the Rings” or Tatooine in “Star Wars,” where the hero may be at ease, but yearns for adventure.

Call to Adventure 

Inquiry – The catalyst for the hero to embark on an adventure, usually in the form of a problem or incident that she can’t ignore, or a direct threat to herself, her family, or her community.

Test, Allies, Enemies 

This is the part of the story where the main character sets out on a quest to discover who they are and what they are capable of, encountering obstacles and tests, making allies and enemies along the way.


The story’s climax is the point at which the protagonist’s life as he knows it comes to an end; if the hero fails, he either dies or his life as we know it comes to an end.


Luke Skywalker’s quest to discover if the Force is real and how he can use it to destroy the Death Star is similar.

Common Characters in the Hero’s Journey 

Some of the most popular book series and film franchises, such as “Star Wars,” “The Lord of the Rings,” and “Harry Potter,” use archetypal characters in the hero’s journey stages of many books and movies.

We recommend reading:  How Many Mph Does A Bullet Travel?

What are the 7 archetypal characters in a hero’s journey?

The Archetypes are a group of people who share certain characteristics.

  • Herald.
  • Shadow.
  • Trickster.
  • Shapeshifter.
  • Threshold Guardian. A character who serves to keep the unworthy from entering.
  • Threshold Guardian. A character who serves to keep the unworthy from entering.

What are the 12 hero archetypes?

The Innocent, Everyman, Hero, Outlaw, Explorer, Creator, Ruler, Magician, Lover, Caregiver, Jester, and Sage are the twelve brand archetypes.

Is the heros journey an archetype?

The hero’s journey is a common narrative archetype, or story template, in which a hero embarks on an adventure, learns a lesson, triumphs with that newfound knowledge, and then returns home transformed. The hero’s journey can be broken down into three stages: departure, learning, and victory.

What is the 8th archetype?

Eights are body people who live life viscerally and with a ferocity unlike any other archetype. To be fully you, don’t minimize your strength; instead, elevate the parts of you that don’t often get the spotlight (i.e. the mushy middle).

Why is the hero archetype?

The hero’s main feat is to defeat the monster of darkness: it’s the long-awaited and anticipated triumph of consciousness over the unconscious.

What are the 12 parts of the hero’s journey?

The Hero’s Journey Has 12 Stages

  • Call To Adventure.
  • Refusal Of The Call.
  • Meeting The Mentor.
  • Crossing The Threshold.
  • Tests, Allies, and Enemies.
  • Approach To The Inmost Cave.
  • Ordeal.

What are Jung’s 4 major archetypes?

In Four Archetypes, Jung describes the four archetypes that he considers fundamental to the psychological make-up of every individual: mother, rebirth, spirit, and trickster, in addition to explaining the theoretical background behind the idea.

We recommend reading:  How Fast Can Forest Fires Travel?

What are the 12 most common archetypes?

The 12 most common character archetypes are listed below, along with examples from famous works of literature and film.

  • The Outlaw.
  • The Explorer.
  • The Sage.
  • The Innocent.
  • The Creator.
  • The Lover.
  • The Hero.
  • The Magician.

Who made the 12 archetypes?

Carl Jung identified 12 archetypes, including Ruler, Creator, and Artist.

What are the 8 steps of a hero’s journey?

There are eight terms in this set.

  • Challenges.
  • Abyss.
  • Transformation.
  • Atonement.
  • Return with a gift.
  • The call. A problem is presented, and the hero cannot remain in the ordinary world.
  • The call.

What are the 3 stages of a hero’s journey?

The Departure (or Separation), the Initiation, and the Return, according to Campbell, are the three main stages, each of which consists of several steps. During the Departure, the hero is introduced as they are presented with and prepare for their journey.

What is the freedom to live in the hero’s journey?

Freedom to Live u2013 The hero is free of the fear of death, allowing him to live in the moment with no worries about the future or regrets about the past.

What are the eight character types?

Joseph Campbell explores the eight types of characters in the hero’s journey in The Hero of a Thousand Faces, including the hero, mentor, ally, herald, trickster, shapeshifter, guardian, and shadow.

What are the 8 character types?

8 Character Types to Include in Your Story

  • So, how do you come up with characters like that?
  • Protagonist examples:
  • Antagonist examples:
  • Sidekick examples:
  • Orbital Character examples:
  • Love Interest examples:
  • Confidante examples:
  • Extras examples:
We recommend reading:  Quick Answer: How Many Quarts Oil Dodge Journey?

What are the 7 character archetypes?

Seven archetypes that appear in stories are described by Christopher Vogler.

  • The hero or heroine of a story is the main character with whom we are most familiar.
  • Mentor.
  • Threshold Guardian.
  • Herald.
  • Shapeshifter.
  • Shadow.
  • Trickster.
  • See also.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *