How Would Star Wars 7 Fit Into A Hero’s Journey?

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Hero’s Journey

In 1949, Joseph Campbell outlined the 17 stages of a mythological hero’s journey; in an attempt to show Hollywood how every story should unfold, Christopher Vogler condensed those stages down to 12.

Call to Adventure

It’s a sign in each case that they should put on their boogie shoes and venture into the unknown.

Refusal of the Call

Finn and Rey both reject the call at about the same time, Finn wanting to keep running from the First Order, while Rey rejects Luke’s lightsaber gift and insists on returning to Jakku. The First Order kicks down the door and begins killing everyone.

Meeting the Mentor

In the first half of The Force Awakens, Rey and Finn are on their own, with Han, Maz, and Kylo Ren all offering to mentor them. Luke doesn’t appear until the last two minutes of the film, which is confusing when viewed as a standalone Hero’s Journey.

Tests, Allies, Enemies

They are pitted against some of the Star Wars universe’s most dreadful foes.

Approach to the Inmost Cave

Plus, Kylo Ren and his father have a conversation, and there’s some powerful stuff in the cave.


Following Han’s death, they must now fight alongside him in the Starkiller Base forests.

Reward (Seizing the Sword)

Finn is great, but he’s not the star here; Rey takes the spotlight when Luke’s lightsaber flies past Ren and into her hands. It’s time to show Ren who’s boss.

The Road Back

In the most recent Star Wars film, Rey realizes that hanging out on Jakku isn’t doing anyone any good, which leads her down the road that everyone in the film was looking foru2014and straight to the island where a certain one-handed Jedi awaits.

We recommend reading:  How Much Money Cash Can You Travel With?

Return With the Elixir

Leia is hoping for his assistance in restoring peace and justice to the galaxy, and we’re betting he’ll make a big difference.

How does Star Wars fit the hero’s journey?

The Star Wars story follows the mythical hero’s journey, a familiar storytelling structure that spans cultures and time. The hero’s journey involves the protagonist answering the call to action and growing into a great hero.

What is Rey’s call to adventure?

However, in strictly cinematic terms (and even as a “meta” reading), Rey’s true call to Adventure is that crowd-pleasing reveal in which she leads her companions to a notorious piece of junk she had just dismissed as a means of escape to flee the First Order fighters after her, Finn, and BB-8 until she has no other option.

What is a good example of the hero’s journey?

The journey home – Odysseus returns home to find his wife being courted by many suitors. Resurrection of the hero – Odysseus is patient and disguises himself as a beggar to test his wife’s fidelity.

What are 3 examples of a hero’s journey?

Two Case Studies of the Hero’s Journey in Movies

  • Luke lives on a farm on Tatooine with his aunt and uncle.
  • The call to adventure.
  • The call’s refusal.
  • The mentor.
  • Crossing the threshold.
  • The ordeal.
  • The return.

What are the steps of a hero’s journey?

The Hero’s Journey in Steps

  • The Ordinary World.
  • The Call to Adventure.
  • The Refusal of the Call.
  • Meeting with the Mentor.
  • Crossing the Threshold.
  • Tests, Allies, and Enemies.

How is the Lion King a hero’s journey?

The Lion King is a true hero’s journey set in the African savannas, with Simba as the main character who reclaims his kingdom and defeats evil. The main character’s archetype is “king,” and he takes responsibility for his actions and his kingdom, restoring order and control.

We recommend reading:  How Long Can You Travel Outside The Us?

Who is the hero of the force awakens?

Rey Skywalker, also known as Rey, is a fictional character in the Star Wars franchise and the main protagonist of the sequel film trilogy, created by Lawrence Kasdan, J. J. Abrams, and Michael Arndt for The Force Awakens (2015), the first installment of the trilogy, and portrayed by Daisy Ridley.

What is the refusal to call in Star Wars?

Meeting the Mentor: The hero meets a mentor who can provide them with advice, wisdom, information, or items that will prepare them for the journey ahead. Refusal of the Call: The hero initially refuses the adventure due to hesitation, fears, insecurity, or any other number of issues.

Does Rey follow the hero’s journey?

However, Rey’s character arc in the film is based on Campbell, and in The Rise of Skywalker, Rey completes her Campbellian heroic cycle, remaining the same optimistic scavenger we met on Jakku but forever changed by her journey. The third phase begins similarly to the first.

What are the 8 steps of a hero’s journey?

There are eight terms in this set.

  • Challenges.
  • Abyss.
  • Transformation.
  • Atonement.
  • Return with a gift.
  • The call. A problem is presented, and the hero cannot remain in the ordinary world.
  • The call.

What are the four parts of the hero’s journey?

The Hero’s Journey was his all-encompassing metaphor for the deep inner transformation that heroes appear to share throughout history, a path that leads them through great movements of separation, descent, ordeal, and return.

What are the 10 steps of the hero’s journey?

Steps in the Hero’s Journey

  • Step 1: The Ordinary World.
  • Step 2: The Call to Adventure.
  • Step 3: Cross the First Threshold.
  • Step 4: Trials, Friends, and Foes.
  • Step 5: Magical Mentor (or the Mentor with Supernatural Aid)
  • Step 6: Dragon’s Lair.
  • Step 7: Moment of Despair.
We recommend reading:  Zika Virus Where Not To Travel?

What is the treasure in a hero’s journey?

The Hero receives the reward/treasure he earned by facing his greatest challenge, indicating his victory over the Antagonist; this reward/treasure is what the Hero set out on the journey to obtain (it does not have to be material).

Why is the hero’s journey so universal?

The point of this stage in the Hero’s Journey is that the Reward is never enough; no matter how much we hope they will, life’s physical rewards never satisfy us as deeply as we hope; the Hero’s Journey reflects this universal human truth by continuing the story even after the Hero appears to have gotten what they want.

What movie has a hero’s journey?

The hero’s journey is depicted in six iconic films: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2001), Star Wars (1977), The Matrix (1999), Spider-Man (2002), The Lion King (1994), and The Lord of the Rings trilogy (2001-2003).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *